‘My love for all things “wonky”‘: A post from Teresa Robbins

Image

My name is Teresa Robbins and I am a local student attending Bloomsburg University. I will admit, I was initially quite nervous upon joining this group of individuals from all over the United States, undertaking my first field work experience. The journey though has been a blast and all my comrades are amazing people. I am sadden by the knowledge that it will end in only two short days, all of us dispersing back to our corners of the country. I intend to follow up on our research by visiting the University of Maryland over the next year as our artifacts are cleaned, categorized, and pieced together. We found both the expected and the unusual. I spent most of the field school with my partner in crime, Mr. James Kuzma, digging out a feature which we first discovered in the very first layer of the very first stratum. Seven feet later we came to a halt on top of immovable rocks and came to a conclusion: we had uncovered either a privy or cesspool. The remnants of what appears to be roofing littering the base above the rock. Uncovering whole bottles, shoes, combs, razors, and even what looks like a chamber pot with a glove stuck to the side. That was one of the most unusual things.

Image

Overall the experience was quite successful and I learned a lot, even about myself. I learned that though my impatience can be detrimental to the slow uncovering of a unit, it also allows me to crave the need to continue each day. To determine the mysteries being unfolded and define the some-things. I also discovered my love for all things “wonky”, those objects that just aren’t quite right but still provide a purpose. Those objects that remind me of myself, never perfect but always important to someone, at some point, some where.

About LM Project

The LMP is a collaborative endeavor which aims to recognize the events surrounding the Lattimer Massacre, an incident that changed the labor movement and impacted the world by bringing to light economic disparities and ethnic tensions in the anthracite region of PA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

