Team Bio: Samantha Schwartz

Here is a bio from team member Samantha Schwartz:

I am a rising junior at the University of Maryland and Anthropology major with a specialty in Archaeology. I have not worked at other archaeological sites, but I have done lab work, including the identification and cataloguing of ceramics, glass, and animal bones from sites in Maryland. I also have experience in research, which is something that I have found to enjoy. This past spring I intensively researched the topic of cross-dressing in Greek mythology at the Library of Congress for my College Park Art Scholars capstone, and designed a poster for this research at the end of the semester. This and other experiences have helped me realize that research will be an enjoyable aspect of my future career.

My main area of interest is Greek and Roman culture and mythology, and I aspire to work in a site like Pompeii. In the future, I would also like to bring more public awareness to the field of Archaeology and help people of the present discover how they can personally connect with people of the past. It is because of this that I have developed an interest in graffiti, since I view it as direct insight into the emotions and culture of an individual. My work in the Lattimer site also feeds into this interest. Lattimer’s history is still connected to the present and it will be a great experience to bring this rich and emotional history back to the area’s current occupants. Just being in Hazleton is fascinating in the legacy and atmosphere the people and places provide.

About LM Project

The LMP is a collaborative endeavor which aims to recognize the events surrounding the Lattimer Massacre, an incident that changed the labor movement and impacted the world by bringing to light economic disparities and ethnic tensions in the anthracite region of PA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

