Day 5: A Wet Day in the Field/ Crew Bio


It was a rainy day in the field, but we made it through the day. Last night we were joined by
two new crew members, Jocelyn Knauf and Amanda Tang from University of Maryland, who are volunteering for the week. The day started out cold and wet, threatening to rain on us all day. Nonetheless, we opened up two more test units for a total of four. The second two units are closer too the old road bed of Canal Street, intended to pick up the architectural remains of the house. Today, they yielded recently dumped modern trash like rubber tubing and other plastic bits. In Test Unit 1 we found a Indian Head penny dated to 1901. From this, we know our deposit at this level post dates this date (the penny could have been thrown out anytime after 1901)

Starting today we will occasionally post bios from the crew members here in Lattimer. Here is the first one from Katie Nyulassy:

I was introduced to the Lattimer Archaeology Project in the Spring of 2012 at the University of Maryland College Park, where I am currently majoring in Anthropology with a minor in Asian American studies. I was fortunate enough to be invited to assist Mike Roller and Katie Chen in transcribing and uploading the Lattimer Mines employee record card archive to the (soon-to-be public, see blogpost here) master database. During my time working with Mike and Katie on this project, I have developed an appreciation and interest in U.S. labor history; particularly in the experiences of the turn of the century immigrant workforce.

As a descendant of turn of the century immigrants, myself, I have a personal interest in the experiences of minority immigrant groups, like the ones we’re studying here in Lattimer. In the late 19th century, my father’s Hungarian and Italian families immigrated to the U.S. and settled in New York. Unfortunately, I never got to know my Italian or Hungarian grandparents, so my knowledge of those immigrant experiences is limited to what my father can recall from his childhood. I know much more about my mother’s side, who immigrated here from Japan in the early 20th century, and made their living as migrant workers and sharecroppers on the California coast. On both sides my great grandparents are remembered for working tirelessly to fulfill the “American dream” of securing better lives for their growing families.

As I head into my senior year at the University of Maryland and start to make plans for graduate school, I am finding that my interests are being significantly influenced and inspired by the 19th and 20th century immigrant experience of endurance, resistance and perseverance in the face of adversity. I hope to use what I gain from working on the Lattimer project in my future academic career.

About LM Project

The LMP is a collaborative endeavor which aims to recognize the events surrounding the Lattimer Massacre, an incident that changed the labor movement and impacted the world by bringing to light economic disparities and ethnic tensions in the anthracite region of PA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

